The other Person

Published on by Pelly FreshQueen

Dear Person reading this

“The source of love is deep in us and we can help others realize a lot of happiness. One word, one action, one thought can reduce another person’s suffering and bring that person joy.”
Thích Nhất Hạnh

Do you ever just get to know someone then click instantly? I have a feeling for a certain girl. When she smiles it makes me feel like i have made the world a better place by putting that mark not only on her face, but in my heart too. It might seem weird to a few, but i dont only like this girl, but i really love her like a friend should, and its because of that love that i feel joy every time i talk to her, and it is through my mindfulness that i have now gotten the art to appreciate her friendship.

“We really have to understand the person we want to love. If our love is only a will to possess, it is not love. If we only think of ourselves, if we know only our own needs and ignore the needs of the other person, we cannot love. We must look deeply in order to see and understand the needs, aspirations, and suffering of the person we love. This is the ground of real love. You cannot resist loving another person when you really understand him or her.

From time to time, sit close to the one you love, hold his or her hand, and ask, 'Darling, do I understand you enough? Or am I making you suffer? Please tell me so that I can learn to love you properly. I don't want to make you suffer, and if I do so because of my ignorance, please tell me so that I can love you better, so that you can be happy." If you say this in a voice that communicates your real openness to understand, the other person may cry.

That is a good sign, because it means the door of understanding is opening and everything will be possible again.

Maybe a father does not have time or is not brave enough to ask his son such a question. Then the love between them will not be as full as it could be. We need courage to ask these questions, but if we don't ask, the more we love, the more we may destroy the people we are trying to love. True love needs understanding. With understanding, the one we love will certainly flower.”
Thích Nhất Hạnh, Peace Is Every Step: The Path of Mindfulness in Everyday Life

Banana is a girl who even though we have never met before makes me feel like i am actually a friend. She is there when i text. She laughs at my Kasisi videos and actually finds me funny as an individual, and i feel that when we finally meet we will click like we have known each other all our lives. One thing i love about Banana is that she is so simple, so sweet and very open. I always seem to know when she might be feeling alone and just needing some form of space filler to be there with her. She is that one person you may miss in a cloud because of all the distractions, but if and when you look deep enough, you'll see her shinning right through.

Friends are the family we choose, and i have chosen this other person. My PERSON

-Pelly

Published on Friendship

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post